ITIL relevance

General discussion on all aspects of the IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL)
Carnation

Sat Mar 19, 2011 7:48 am

I am new to ITIL and trying to understand how to implement it in the IT organization that I work for. For simplicity, let's say we have a Infra support group (maintains the computer systems) and a technology training support group (providing training for new technologies required for the projects) who provide services to the development group. I understand that ITIL is relevant to the Infra support group but would the Tech training group come under ITIL's ambit?

Diarmid
ITIL Expert
ITIL Expert

Sat Mar 19, 2011 7:49 pm

It is better to consider ITIL as guidance in how you manage your services, rather than as something you implement.

This will also lead to an understanding that service management is the way in which you manage all activities related to the delivery of service rather than all the activities of any particular group or team.

In other words define the processes; identify how they will be performed and by whom (irrespective of what team they are in); identify where authority and responsibility lie at all levels; implement the processes. This will lead to a more harmonious system and will undermine any tendency to silos.
"Method goes far to prevent trouble in business: for it makes the task easy, hinders confusion, saves abundance of time, and instructs those that have business depending, both what to do and what to hope."
William Penn 1644-1718
Carnation

Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:00 am

Thanks Diarmid for the explanation.

I understand that whether to adopt ITIL is an organizational decision and once taken applies to the whole organization irrespective of various groups or departments.