ITIL v3 Foundation Exam Requirements

Discussions related to ITIL certification, training and exams.
dmontgo

Sun Sep 20, 2009 11:06 pm

Hello,

I'm still fairly new in my career- I have a BS in Informatics, I'll be starting classes again in about 1 year to obtain my MBA, and possibly my CAPM. I've been around at my job for around 1.5 years, and I'm being put in charge of various system implementations and management tasks for our dept. that are very much Service oriented, and from the way things look, this is just the beginning. It's an academic environment, with 4 acadademically autonomous campuses, though the administration is looked at as a single entity. I am currently and will continue to collaborate with the IS departments at other campuses, some of which are following ITIL practices. I'm unsure if my particular campus will decide to follow ITIL practices, but the fact remains that I will be working with a lot of people that will be using them, and as our list of services grows, I think that many of the concepts could be valuable to us.

That said, I am interested in pursuing the v3 Foundation cert- I've tried to read up on it as best I can, but it seems that I'm mostly finding older information, or conflicting information.

My biggest questions are the following:

Am I required to take a course before sitting for the exam? I've heard that a ~16 hour course, online or instructor led is required.

What material does the v3 Foundation cover in the textbooks? I've come across the 'OGC' collection of 5 'official' books several times- do these encompass everything covered in the exam?

I think ITIL will be helpful for me in my current situation- even though I'm not actually a manager I'm still very much at the helm of several projects- am I right in thinking that ITIL could be helpful? Or should I simply be looking at CAPM / PMP?

Thanks!

UKVIKING
ITIL Expert
ITIL Expert

Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:50 am