Advice from ones who have already traveled this road...

Discussions related to ITIL certification, training and exams.
usf2000

Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:37 am

Hi,

I'm going to go for my certification this year, because of work and my child I can't do the class setting. I'm going to try the self study way.

For those are doing or have gone through the self study route.

1. What books/resources did you find helpful?

2. Did you have previous exposure to the ITIL method? (I ask this because although I'm not certified I've used ITL for ~4 yrs. So I'm not a newbie to the idea but I have done some research and know that there are some aspects of ITIL that I haven't had to use before.)

3. How much time in a day/week did you commit to studying?

4. How much time in total did it take you?

5. If you've done the self study and the class setting what did you find different (pros and cons)?

6. What level of ITIL certification are you at and how long did it take you to get there?

(My plan is to use forums/blogs/articles/etc as referrences along with the books. )

Thank you for your responses.

Regards, USF2000

Timo
ITIL Expert
ITIL Expert

Thu Feb 25, 2010 11:36 am

What level are you studying for specifically?
usf2000

Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:21 pm

Going to start from the beginning ITIL Foundation and then just follow the steps to the next level.
Timo
ITIL Expert
ITIL Expert

Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:50 pm

I am not sure how helpful I am going to be because I followed a different route. I initially got certified in v2 and then did my v3 foundations. It was pretty easy because while conceptually v3 is structured differently, the processes and elements of the processes that migrated from v2 remained the same more or less. But as somebody who didn't have previous exposure, you'd probably need to invest a decent amount of time going through the books (boring as hell, be warned) and getting the concepts.