Multiple CI's

Discussion on issues related directly or largely to ITIL problem management.
Post Reply
User avatar
Nizmo
Itiler
Itiler
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 8:00 pm

Mon Oct 14, 2013 4:17 am

Do you think it is advisable to have multiple affected CI's in a single problem record?


User avatar
UKVIKING
ITIL Expert
ITIL Expert
Posts: 3639
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:00 pm
Location: London, UK

Mon Oct 14, 2013 5:35 am

Only if multiple CIs are impacted by a problem ... yes
John Hardesty
ITSM Manager's Certificate (Red Badge)

Change Management is POWER & CONTROL. /....evil laughter
User avatar
Nizmo
Itiler
Itiler
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 8:00 pm

Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:28 am

Thank you for you response.

My question is based on the tool we are using which doesn't allow for multiple impacted CI's but only 1. The Incident portion of this tool does allow for multiple CI's but it is not always known by the Incident team what the impacted CI's are and that is what the Problem team will investigate.

Its just that if you report on an impacted CI within the Problem section of the tool the report will show how many problems this CI has against it and will look problematic. I just think the tool should separate an Impacted CI from a Root Causing CI.

not sure what your thoughts are on this?
User avatar
UKVIKING
ITIL Expert
ITIL Expert
Posts: 3639
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 8:00 pm
Location: London, UK

Mon Oct 14, 2013 10:31 am

Nizmo

The trite phrase - IT Depends - comes to mind

First, the structure of the CIs is important.

If the structure is hierarchal, then you take the parent of them all

for example

all 10 CIs are routers or servers that support one application, then there should be CI parent for the 10 devices of some sort

If not, then you need to report that the tool does not support how the CI should be
John Hardesty
ITSM Manager's Certificate (Red Badge)

Change Management is POWER & CONTROL. /....evil laughter
Post Reply